Yet to Rise

Rwanda Genocide Effects

YET TO RISE

I first heard of Rwanda when my mom decided to visit Rwanda as Indian Delegation visiting Rwanda.  Ever since then I had been reading on the country’s history and I was amazed to see the rapid development that is taking place after one of the most horrifying genocides in history. Therefore, during one of the a long weekends in my school I decided to visit this nation and see for myself. I joined a community service project started by AVEGA AGAHOZO (http://avega.org.rw/) for the Tutsi genocide survivors of 1994. I visited a center outside the main city, Kigali, to interact with the widows of from the genocide. Their bodies still had scars from the genocide, and the details of how their children and husbands died was as if the genocide happened yesterday. However I realised that every single one of them makes a constant effort to move on with their lives by becoming experts in their hobbies. Some at singing, some knitting and others dancing. I went with an intention to help them forget, but I came across something more amazing- I couldn’t expect or wish for anyone of them to forget the past, their stories give them their unique identity and outlook on life. They make them powerful and motivate them to work towards ‘change’.

I spent most of the time touring with my host brother, Rurinda. He taught me about the cultural aspects. One morning, we went to a local primary school. We bought food for the children. I danced and played games, as well as, taught them how to play drums on the native African drums. I learnt to handle kids and just seeing them smile made me happy.

On one of the nights, the Rwandan press was called and I decided to give a speech on what I learnt by simply dancing with a few widows. I am not very good at public speaking and I had to address an issue that has deep cultural, historical and sentimental roots; the wound was still fresh. My speech expressed the warmth i felt and how my views of ‘under developed country’ changed to a ‘country who still hasn’t explored its potential’. I put forward the idea that the problem lies in the scarcity of resources that makes it very difficult for the survivors to get out of the genocides shadow and grow towards a fulfilling life.

Helping this community over the long term needs a sustained effort in a number of areas like politics, microeconomics, communication, fund raising, etc by volunteers who work hand in hand with the community. I am going to make frequent visits to Rwanda in order to do my part in tackling this problem. (https:// www.youtube.com/watch?v=zqhA4ZQYmus).

Thank You

Neysa Sanghavi

28 thoughts on “Yet to Rise

  1. Bravo, Neysa Sanghavi !
    You are serving our fellow humans in a far off land, who have gone through one of the most horrific experiences and are bravely not only coming out of the trauma, but are growing, drawing strength out of the very very hurt!
    Your article is a fine piece of writing; for, it sounds like you are talking with us, the readers. Your clarity of ideas, your empathy and zeal are reaching us, i think, because you are so true a being. Hats off to you Neysa! God bless you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Neysa, delighted to read about the engagement youngsters like you have with their world and the efforts they are making to make it a better place for all. There are no doubt many horrors in the world, but eventually it is upto us how we process and handle them, in our own individual ways. Bottomline – it is upto us to make a difference.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wonderful to see such a young woman with such compassion and warmth. This shows your true character. I predict you will make a HUGE impact on this world we live in (even if you have a challenging time with public speaking. 🙂 )

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Beautiful post, Neysa. Best of luck to you with your humanitarian efforts. To quote a 1960’s song by Burt Bacharach, “What the World Needs Now is Love.” You are a living example of that love.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wonderful, Neysa, I am so impressed with your courage in visiting an unknown place and the great way you have shared the courage too of genocide survivors. You write very well and I hope you continue your travels and reporting on them, you make the world a better place and one of hope and optimism.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It indeed is a very special trip. And a very special experience which opened so many windows of light within me. that is the reason i am sharing. Thank you for all your appreciation.

      Like

  6. This was an inspiring read, truly felt empowered reading this post and connecting with a girl my age who’s had this great exposure and an amazing opportunity to display nothing but love and courage in its purest form.
    Thank you for sharing and spreading this positive light and message.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi Neysa
    You are a strong woman with the desire to learn the culture, the horrific history, then experience what the people of Rwanda are feeling today. Your approach was spot on, you weren’t there to change the world, just start learning first hand how to country is moving. Your speech made an impact with the people you met and they will welcome you with open arms next trip. I found myself very interested and concerned for Nigeria, it was difficult to imagine the pain families felt when the girls were kidnapped. America has it’s problems but there very different in much of the world.
    Thank you for following me, I’m not sure how you came across my page but glad you are now following. I’m following you the same.
    Be Safe
    Melinda

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

